FPGARelated.com
Forums

UDP or TCP/IP FPGA solution for max streaming rate of 640 Mbps

Started by jmca 4 years ago6 replieslatest reply 4 years ago355 views

Hi,

I am an FPGA engineer in charge of developing a test application that must offload a continuous test data stream between host PC and a test hardware. I do not need to set up a network, just a point to point link.

The test hardware must supply with continuous data at max 640 Mbps to the design under test, running in another FPGA based board. I am doubting between UDP and TCP 1Gbps to do this. 

I am new in networking applications, . UDP implementation seems simpler in this test HW, but also have read is more unreliable , packets might be lost and order of delivery might be affected. My question is , does this still hold for a point to point connection? Or should I go for a TCP/IP 1Gbps implementation, which seems more complex to keep up with this 640 Mbps data rate?

Jose

[ - ]
Reply by josybFebruary 22, 2020

In a point-to-point go for UDP, it is simple and reliable enough; it is only when you travel long distances over switches and ISP that packets and order get lost.

TCP is a lot more work and testing. 

You can find a low-cost package here: https://comblock.com/com5402soft.html I haven't used it, so YMMV

Regards,

Josy

[ - ]
Reply by jmcaFebruary 22, 2020

Thanks for the reference , I will check it out...as stated I am more to go after UDP. Will let you know once i start the task (has been de-prioritized now)

[ - ]
Reply by MichaelKellettFebruary 22, 2020

Assuming that the data source and PC have no more than one (maybe 2) switch(es) between them UDP is the way to go. You will need to design your own protocol to cope with lost or errored UDPs.