FPGARelated.com
Forums

Is this possible with an FPGA?

Started by Joe3502 4 years ago8 replieslatest reply 8 months ago192 views

Hi All, 

I am starting to learn Verilog in order to program FPGAs. I have a project where I need to take three digital signals coming from three hall sensors on a linear motor (These hall sensors are placed on the motor such that each hall sensor puts out a wave 60 degrees out of phase from one another) and convert them into a signal that mimics an incremental encoder (A, B, and Z signals). My goal is to feed said A, B, and Z signal into a variable frequency drive for high-precision positioning.

Do you think that this is possible? If so, how would you go about it? I am still learning how to code with Verilog. This seems like a fairly complicated task for a beginner, so if anyone is willing to help that would be greatly appreciated!

Best Regards, 

Joe M 

[ - ]
Reply by rajkeerthy18February 16, 2023

Joe,

Hall sensors have various applications. Seems you are looking for an encoder type converter for discrete wave outputs. The following note could help. http://www.ti.com/lit/an/sboa200/sboa200.pdf

[ - ]
Reply by Joe3502February 16, 2023

Thank you for your reply. I am indeed looking for a converter to take three hall sensor inputs to a single encoder-type outputs. I will take a look at the note that you attached...

[ - ]

Post deleted by author

[ - ]
Here is the question that I have. The A and B signals are already covered in that file that you attached, but the Z signal (time signal) is not discussed. I am looking to use all three hall sensor values in order to get one output that mimics an encoder with that timing signal. Do you think you could assist me with this?
[ - ]
Reply by rajkeerthy18February 16, 2023

Joe,