FPGARelated.com
Forums

FPGA for audio DSP

Started by RogerG 2 years ago7 replieslatest reply 1 year ago1581 views

I am a complete beginner when it comes to FPGA so any advice would be helpful.

I have been looking at updating my audio system which currently takes an analogue input signal from a CD player, filters it into 3 frequency bands, adjusts the attenuation for each frequency band using an optical encoder with a pic18f4525 processor and 3 dual channel digipots. The attenuated signals are then amplified separately. The system works really well but I am looking to go digital on the front end.

I looked at using a fast processor for the dsp but after a previous forum on embedded.com a member mentioned using fpga for a better solution. After checking into this I think it would work well especially as the signal filtering would best be done in parallel for the three stereo channels. I would take the digital audio signal, probably spdif, convert it to i2s, carry out the filtering, attenuate each frequency channel then convert to analogue for amplification.

Hopefully someone will tell me if this is the right approach. The next problem is what fpga board to start learning with. Many of the starter boards are on long deliveries but I have already downloaded the Lattice Diamond software and am learning a bit more on the circuit logic. Is the lattice system ok and could I progress using a simulation software without a board. My experience on programming is mainly limited to assembly code with some C and visual basic. Is verilog the way to go.

[ - ]
Reply by rdltFebruary 16, 2023

A processor would be faster to develop and test. On the surface a processor with I2S peripherals seems like a better fit.  However you asked about FPGAs, so here we go...