FPGARelated.com
Forums

Mux versus internal high impledance

Started by prashantpd 6 years ago5 replieslatest reply 6 years ago124 views

Hi,

I have been an FPGA designer for more than a decade now and tutor a class on FPGA design at University presently. In all these years, I have had two ways of implementing a multiplexer functionality. 

The first one is the conventional

module mux (
    input [9:0] din,
    input [3:0] sel1,
    input [3:0] sel2,
    output dout
);

reg op1, op2;

always @(*)
begin
    case(sel1)
    4'd0 : op1 = din[0];
    4'd1 : op1 = din[1];
    4'd2 : op1 = din[2];
    4'd3 : op1 = din[3];
    4'd4 : op1 = din[4];
    4'd5 : op1 = din[5];
    4'd6 : op1 = din[6];
    4'd7 : op1 = din[7];
    4'd8 : op1 = din[8];
    4'd9 : op1 = din[9];
    default op1 = 1'd0;
    endcase
end

always @(*)
begin
    case(sel2)
    4'd0 : op2 = din[0];
    4'd1 : op2 = din[1];
    4'd2 : op2 = din[2];
    4'd3 : op2 = din[3];
    4'd4 : op2 = din[4];
    4'd5 : op2 = din[5];
    4'd6 : op2 = din[6];
    4'd7 : op2 = din[7];
    4'd8 : op2 = din[8];
    4'd9 : op2 = din[9];
    default op2 = 1'd0;
    endcase
end

assign dout = op1 ^ op2;

endmodule

while the other one is a bit quirky and uses internal tri states. Now before you draw the big guns, I know FPGAs do not have internal tristates (the last ones which had them are probably Virtex II Pro, but I learned Verilog on a Virtex II Pro). The code follows.

module hiz #(
    parameter DW = 10,
    parameter SW = 4
)(
    input [DW-1:0] din,
    input [SW-1:0] sel1,
    input [SW-1:0] sel2,
    output dout
);

reg op1, op2;

generate
genvar i;
for (i=0;i<=DW-1;i=i+1)
begin : SEL1

always @(*)
    if(sel1 == i)
        op1 = din[i];
    else
        op1 = 1'bz;

always @(*)
    if(sel2 == i)
        op2 = din[i];
    else
        op2 = 1'bz;
end
endgenerate

assign dout = op1 ^ op2;

endmodule

The advantage I saw of this code is that my module is parametrizable. In my experience, the design works correctly.