FPGARelated.com
Forums

DSP Windowing function

Started by Bheki 7 years ago7 replieslatest reply 7 years ago695 views

Hi everyone

I am new in #FPGA programming, yet I have programming experience in using C, matlab, SQL, and other languages. 

I am assigned a task of creating a Windowing function using Xilinx FPGAs in VHDL. I studied what windowing is and how it works. I have also done couple of examples in BRAMs, Dual Port RAMS, etc, and I did windowing function tutorials available in Vivado applications as examples. I am failing to put the whole thing together (like reading data from BRAM and multiplying it with signals coefficients). May I please be given the direction/logic on how do I approach this.

Any advice will be appreciated

[ - ]
Reply by raphAugust 30, 2017

Hi Bheki,

I guess you want to apply a window to an array of samples stored in Bloc RAM.

My experience with Spartan 3 (it doesn't change the matter as BR are similar or bigger now). Multiplication of an the array of samples (Signed samples) with a constant positive window array (Signed samples normalised).
A simple counter can be used to address both the sample array and the constant window array. And you need to store the sample at the output of the FPGA (Back in the BR).

I hope it help,
Raph

[ - ]
Reply by BhekiAugust 30, 2017

Hi Raph,

Do you perhaps know of any source where I can get temporal samples, just for testing

Thanks in advance

[ - ]
Reply by SlartibartfastAugust 30, 2017

It's just an element-by-element multiplication, so a structure with a counter or two and a multiplier is basically it.   If the window function is symmetric, which most are, and memory is constrained, you can cut the memory in half and add a little logic to reverse the counter when you get to the middle.

[ - ]
Reply by Tim WescottAugust 30, 2017