FPGARelated.com
Forums

Deep-learning FPGA. How did you?

Started by SpiderKenny 2 years ago6 replieslatest reply 2 years ago126 views

Maybe I'm one of the worst people to be learning FPGAs because I've been a firmware developer on embedded CPUs and an application developer on Mac / Windows for many years. My primary skill is in electronics design, but more and more you need to be a code developer too.

All this firmware/app development in C and C++ etc probably means I have a mental preference for procedural coding and need to get my head around the hardware definition language of FPGAs.

I've been self-teaching for a couple of years, and actually have a few working FPGA projects under my belt.

But I wonder... what's the best way to deep learn FPGA development?

As a comparison: When I was first learning C and C++ I bought loads of books, and took on night classes at Glasgow University in 1986. At the end of it, I was an expert in copying code from books into compilers and getting it to work. But sit me down infront of a new project and I was still a wee bit in the dark. Later on I discovered (the late) David J. Kruglinski's fabulous book "Inside Visual C" and my learning took off. That book actually taught proper c/c++ and didn't just lead you through some copy/paste exercises.

So I'm wondering if there's some similar books or tutorials which are considered the best in the world of FPGAs?

I have a few FPGA dev kits, including Altera DE1 and DE0, and Xilinx Arty-A7 and find that I can get things done, but when I compare my Verilog to other peoples it's pretty bad! 

So any suggestions on a great book or tutorial that really get's the job done, and doesn't just get me to copy/paste?

[ - ]
Reply by PtorruApril 11, 2022