FPGARelated.com
Forums

Modelsim Error: (vsim-3555) Identifier is not a unit name for the physical type

Started by Echoonezero 4 years ago5 replieslatest reply 4 years ago49 views

Hello,

I am a newbie in verifying complex FPGA designs.  In my testbench, I am reading the test vectors from  a text file and assigning them to the input ports of my FPGA design. Thats when I find the above error while reading the first line of my text file. Sample data in text file, error log and my testbench code are in the attached file.

Please let me know if something is not clear in my explanation, and guide me to solve the error.

Modelsim_error.txt

Thank you!

[ - ]
Reply by adouvilleOctober 8, 2020

Hello,

Do you remove something in the testbench you enclosed? Because the actual code is a bit strange: no entity, no architecture, ...

I suggest you to look at a VHDL handbook if this is the exact code!

Moreover, why are the first errors focused on your test pattern? Do you compile it?

If you add an entity, plus an architecture plus the library to the test bench, it should be OK.

[ - ]
Reply by EchoonezeroOctober 8, 2020

Hello adouville,

Sorry for not posting the complete testbench. I thought the logic implemented in the process would be sufficient to convey the information. The below attachment has the complete testbench.

Also, I found out that the error was due to not reading the first data (time value) from the text file in the right manner. After removing the time values from the text file, I could see that the simulation started and test vectors were assigned to the input ports. I have the below questions:

1. How do I read the real value data ex: 206.3, 209.8, 210.2 etc from a text file in my testbench?

2. How do I drive the bidirectional data bus in my testbench? I have tried this in line 151 of the attachment. Let me know if this is correct:

s_AD <= s_AD_temp when s_E = '1' else (others => 'Z');

modelsim_errror.txt

Thank you very much in advance!

[ - ]