FPGARelated.com
Forums

Which FPGA kit to start with in 2018?

Started by david_days 6 years ago12 replieslatest reply 6 years ago11171 views

Hello, All!

I'm a professional software developer who is trying to make the jump into FPGA for fun, learning, and my own research purposes.  I've been studying the tutorials here and elsewhere, reading some basic FPGA development books, and I have some end-goal projects that I want to work towards (robotics motor control, DSP and combinatorial problems, data capture and analysis).

I'm ready to pull the trigger on purchasing a development kit to start working on the basics, from counters and oscilloscopes all the way up to studying FFT implementations in FPGAs.  So, in 2018, what would you, the more experienced folks, suggest?

Initially, I'm thinking of the following parameters:

• Xilinx dev boards/kits:  I have their software installed on my dev machine, and it seems to me (a beginner) that there are a lot of examples and academic research centered around their products--so I should be able to get up to speed if I put in the work.
  • USB interface:  "Easiest" way to hook up to the board itself.  Also less chance that I'll hook up something wrong and burn out the whole thing.
  • Mid-level starter kit:  Though I don't have money to burn, I know that having good tools, as opposed to cheapest, can make a big difference.
  • Easy replacement or upgrades:  Accidents happen, cats knock things off the table, and sometimes you decide that your project is good enough to keep around (instead of tearing it down) or you want to move up the food chain to a bigger resource.

With all this in mind, I've been looking at the Xilinx kits in the $150 range: